This year for halloween, we decided to lay low and have a nice movie night. This means we will be handing out candy to our neighbors ( I am rarely home on Halloween). I thought to myself; “there has to be vegan option for candy.” Low and behold there are several!
If you mosie on over to PETA.org they urge you to look out for a few things since many candy manufacturers can be unclear if they are in fact vegan.
- Gelatin: produced with animal skin, tendons, cartilage, ligaments, and/or bones
- Carmine color: red pigment from the crushed female cochineal insect
- Confectioner’s glaze: made from the resinous excretions of certain insects
So, here is their list of vegan halloween candy:
1. Red Vines-
I LOVE me some red vines, and frankly I had come to a point where I did not care if they were vegan, but I googled it, and yes indeed they are! The sugar content is still problematic, but they still are a great treat.
2. Blow Pops-
3. Air Heads
I used to love this candy so I included it here. I am sure this is not made of any man made ingredients, but next time I see them, I will have to check them out.
5. Pixie Sticks
These are just a few vegan halloween candy that is available so I made a little infographic for download. Add to your Pinterest or save for the future to know which candy is vegan friendly!