I wrote before about crystals that correspond to each of your chakras.  However, I wondered do people who read my blog really know what chakras are? Do I know what they are? So I did some research around the net and found some information about the 7 major chakras and some information about their location, corresponding colors, body parts that can be affected by them, and what the chakra regulates.


What Are Chakras?

The actual word “chakra” is a Sanskrit word for energy centers in the body. The Hindus are not the only ones who had a concept of this. I found that the Egyptians described them as the seven souls of Ra or Sefech Ba Ra or Arats. The Yoruba in West Africa also had a system of Orishas that correspond to the Hindu’s 7 Chakras.  These are the energy centres where “prana,” “sekhem” or “chi” run through. If these centers are blocked you can have issues emotionally and physically, so it is in your best interest to balance them chakras.

Read More: African Goddess Coloring Book ( Featuring Yoruba Orishas)

1. Root Chakra

  • Location: At base of spine, between your legs
  • Colors: Red, Brown
  • Regulates: Survival instincts, security, fight or flight feeling
  • Body Parts Affected: Reproductive glands and organs, kidneys, and spine

2. Sacral Chakra

  • Location: Lower abdomen below your belly button
  • Colors: Orange
  • Regulates: Sexuality, Pleasure, sense of well-being and abundance.
  • Body Parts Affected: The adrenals, immune system, gall bladder, metabolism, waste organs, and spleen

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Location: At base of spine, between your legs
  • Colors: Yellow
  • Regulates: Survival instincts, security, fight of flight feeling
  • Body Parts Affected: the liver, upper spine, pancreas, stomach, and helps with metabolism.

4. Heart Chakra

  • Location: Center of chest just about your heart
  • Colors: Green
  • Regulates: Trust and compassion
  • Body Parts Affected: thymus, heart, and lungs.

5. Throat Chakra

  • Location: Base of throat
  • Colors: blue
  • Regulates: Expression and communication
  • Body Parts Affected: the thyroid, respiratory system, and organs of the mouth and throat

6. Third Eye Chakra

  • Location: Forehead between eyes
  • Colors: Indigo
  • Regulates: Intuition and imagination
  • Body Parts Affected: the pituitary and pineal glands, hormones, eyes, and brain.

7. Crown Chakra

  • Location: Top of your head
  • Colors: Violet
  • Regulates: Connection to the universe. Wisdom and Spirituality
  • Body Parts Affected: the pineal gland, brain stem, spinal cord, and biological cycles – including sleep

Read More: Healing Crystals for Chakra Balancing


  1. “The Kemetic Chakras”- Anthony Bahlibi- https://thesevenminds.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/kemetic-chakras/ . August 2014
  2. The Seven Chakras and Corresponding Orishas” – https://lukumipeople.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/the-seven-chakras-and-their-corresponding-orishas/
  3.  “The Seven Chakras For Beginners” – https://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-91/The-7-Chakras-for-Beginners.html